Scandinavian Working Papers in Economics
HomeAboutSeriesSubject/JEL codesAdvanced Search
Department of Economics, Aarhus School of Business, University of Aarhus Working Papers, Department of Economics, Aarhus School of Business, University of Aarhus

No 03-25:
Incentives in Economic Departments: Testing Tournaments?

Tom Coupé (), Valerie Smeets () and Frederic Warzynski ()

Abstract: Existing tests of tournament theory have recently been criticized

for their failure to distinguish tournaments from other theories that

have similar effects like standards and marginal productivity theory

(Gibbs, 1994, 1996; Prendergast, 1999). In this paper, we propose a

series of empirical tests that allow to make this distinction. We use

a dataset of average wages by rank in US economic departments over

the period 1977-1997 and link this information to individual production

data to test whether wage gaps affect the productivity and cooperative

behavior of economists and to control for marginal productivity theory.

We find that the wage gap is increasing along the hierarchy, even when

controlling for production by rank. Moreover, wages are more sensitive

to productivity for higher ranks. We find some evidence that higher

wage gaps lead to higher productivity but not that wage gaps depend

on the number of contestants nor that they lead to less cooperation.

Keywords: incentives; sorting; tournaments; standards; marginal productivity; economic departments; (follow links to similar papers)

JEL-Codes: J00; M54; (follow links to similar papers)

31 pages, May 26, 2003

Before downloading any of the electronic versions below you should read our statement on copyright.
Download GhostScript for viewing Postscript files and the Acrobat Reader for viewing and printing pdf files.

Full text versions of the paper:

03-25_vasfwa.pdf    PDF-file
Download Statistics

Questions (including download problems) about the papers in this series should be directed to Helle Vinbaek Stenholt ()
Report other problems with accessing this service to Sune Karlsson () or Helena Lundin ().

Programing by
Design by Joachim Ekebom

Handle: RePEc:hhs:aareco:2003_025 This page was generated on 2014-12-14 19:20:39