Scandinavian Working Papers in Economics

Working Paper Series,
Research Institute of Industrial Economics

No 1399: Ballooning Bureaucracy: Tracking the Growth of High-Skilled Administration within Swedish Higher Education

Fredrik W. Andersson, Henrik Jordahl () and Anders Kärnä
Additional contact information
Fredrik W. Andersson: Statistics Sweden and Örebro University
Henrik Jordahl: Örebro University, Postal: and Research Institute of Industrial Economics, Box 55665, SE-102 15 Stockholm, Sweden
Anders Kärnä: Research Institute of Industrial Economics (IFN), Postal: Box 55665, SE-102 15 Stockholm, Sweden, and Örebro University

Abstract: Organizations, both non-profit and for-profit, needs to allocate labor for both production as well as internal administration. If this allocation is skewed towards internal administration, organizations, and especially non-profit organizations, might develop sclerosis over time with too much labor allocated to internal administration compared to production. Using detailed registry data on all individuals working at Swedish universities and colleges, we document a rapid increase in the number of qualified administrators, both in the number of employees and in total wages paid for these. This increase is not present in less qualified administration, and is mainly driven by an increase by a few professions such as communication and human resources. The increase does not lead to a significant reduction, or increase, in the time that researchers and teachers spend on administration. This in turn suggests that Swedish higher education over-allocates resources to high-skilled administration.

Keywords: Organization theory; Sclerosis; Productivity Growth; Bureaucracy; Higher education

JEL-codes: L25; P16

Language: English

26 pages, August 19, 2021

Full text files

wp1399.pdf PDF-file Full text

Download statistics

Questions (including download problems) about the papers in this series should be directed to Elisabeth Gustafsson ()
Report other problems with accessing this service to Sune Karlsson ().

This page generated on 2023-12-07 16:12:44.