Scandinavian Working Papers in Economics

Papers in Innovation Studies,
Lund University, CIRCLE - Centre for Innovation Research

No 2019/6: When the novelty fades – Socio-technical, spatial and temporal dimensions of regional energy transitions

Camilla Chlebna () and Jannika Mattes ()
Additional contact information
Camilla Chlebna: University of Oldenburg, Postal: Germany
Jannika Mattes: University of Oldenburg, Postal: Germany

Abstract: Regional energy transitions are complex processes that are determined by manifold dynamics. We assign these to three core dimensions: the socio-technical, the spatial, and the temporal dimension, and integrate them into a comprehensive framework. We conceptualise the overall transition as unfolding in phases. The first three phases, ‘initiation’, ‘expansion’ and ‘consolidation’ are well established in the literature, and we supplement a particular focus on the social dynamics that constitute them. We also add a fourth phase, a period of ‘fragile new order’. In this phase, socio-technical constellations seem to be well established and the novelty fades. This induces the danger of complacency amongst agents which reduces transition activities, and results in a tipping point. The transition may or may not proceed from this depending on the institutional arrangements and on how the regional agents cope with them. Drawing upon an in-depth case study of the Oldenburg region, we illustrate the dynamics of each phase and show how agents cope with the fragile new order. The observed adaptation processes include a resurge of informal constellations as well as diversification and even exit strategies.

Keywords: Regions; energy; socio-technical transitions; phase model; strategic agency; tipping point

JEL-codes: O33; P18; R11

29 pages, April 8, 2019

Full text files

201906_chlebna.pdf PDF-file Full text

Download statistics

Questions (including download problems) about the papers in this series should be directed to Torben Schubert ()
Report other problems with accessing this service to Sune Karlsson ().

This page generated on 2024-02-05 17:12:34.